Login or Register to review.

Comments

50 comments posted
2
Labbey
Sloppy experience | 6/12/13

2

I have always owned a BUNN and never had any problem,usually lasts around 10-15 yrs. this model is terrible. It takes longer to pour the water in then it takes to make the pot of coffee (that is if you don't want a puddle on the counter). This model makes 10 cups but you only get to drink maybe 8 cups because the rest ends up on the counter also. We have several coffee stained dish cloths. We have only had his model a couple of years and I find myself wishing it would break or quit so that I could justify getting a new version of my old model. Very disappointed in this model. Makes great coffee just wish I could enjoy it.

It Leaks way too much - really? | 5/30/12

1

To Bunn Engineering..... If i wanted a lid / pot to keep the heat in i would have bought a thermos style pot. Holy Cow does this Bunn leak and to open the lid to pour a cup you still need to be an engineer to figure out the right speed to pour. Why, tell me why in the year 2012 you guys can't design a proper pouring carafe? The actual brew of coffee is great. .. I have family that drinks coffee so why do i find myself explaining how to pour a cup of coffee, stand by the pot and defend it so? The cost of saving on heat is lost for the year in the first week of napkin and rag use to clean the spills. The worst coffee maker ever made (my experience and i am 51) by Bunn and i like you guys..... who would have thunk it in 2012 someone like Bunn builds something so poor.

It doesn't have to leak.. | 5/2/12

5

After owning this just a week and experiencing some of the issues others are (leaking from the carafe etc) I figured out why it was leaking from the carafe!!! The manual says the lid on the carafe helps keep the coffee warm. I was not "opening" the lid some to allow water or coffee flow. Once I started opening the lid while pouring, all my issues disappeared (when pouring water or coffee from the carafe with the lid closed I ended up with more water or coffee on my counter than was reasonable)
As far as not keeping the coffee hot enough, I suppose that's personal preference, but I prefer mine not so hot it burns.
It makes the best coffee I've ever tasted (and I've tasted plenty from restaurants that used Bunn coffee makers)
If this last the full 3 yr warranty period, i t will have paid for itself in coffee makers.. I've bought over the last three years..

So far so GOOD? | 4/24/12

3

I finally broke down and bought a Bunn coffee maker this week. After reading all the consumer reviews, and tiring other brands over the years.Like so many consumers I have suffered all the setbacks, coffee not hot enough, leaks, you name it? By the way I will NEVER buy a MR. Coffee! I know what I'm in for with this maker as I have read all the reviews. If this unit fails? I'm buying a commercial unit. Can you say Truck Stop? I live in New Orleans, LA. USA and we know coffee? The best way to keep a HOT cup of coffee is heat water in your coffee cup in the micro, then pour your hot coffee into the cup. Burn your lips!

2
alitwo
Poor Quality. | 4/20/12

2

I got a new coffeemaker this week. It is noisy, slow, and you can't pour water into the top without spilling. I certainly wouldn't pour coffee for a friend, the table would get wet. I do love Bunn and have used it all my married life. It will be going back to the store. I'm really discussed as my old one lasted 10 years of good constent service.

NHBB | 3/16/12

3

Only complaint is this machine does not keep the coffee hot enough.
It brews a quick pot of coffee, just not hot enough. Decided to go with a commercial unit, ordered the VP17-1. Great customer service.

1
Tdavis
Bunn model NHBB | 1/29/12

1

purchased the coffee maker and had issues leaking water over the counter. I think it was due to two things one the spout on the carafe (decanter) and the other reason where you pour the water in the grade is rounded whuch makes the water splash out had you built the graded area flat or dipped down it would of not done . thats my thoughts. I do love Bunn used it all my life. Loved the appearance of this one but you need to make some changes in it for the functional part. I have returned it back to the store at this point not sure which model works best. Oh the other thing about this model it is really hard to get the grounds out when coffee is done. I do want another bunn but not sure which one to get?

2
cmrrn
The Carafe | 1/15/12

2

I am truely disappointed in this carafe. I love Bunn coffee makes so don't get me wrong here. I have been sent a replacement for the carafe that came with the coffee maker due to it's dripping coffee/water all over the place. However, the one that was sent in replacement is not that much better. I sent Bunn an email requesting a solution to this issue a few weeks ago and HAVE NEVER heard from them. Bunn this is not what I am used to with your products.

4
cmrrn
BUNN lover for years | 12/8/11

4

I have Bunn coffeemakers for years and have always loved them. The instructions for this one requires you to write down the model # and date code prior to setting up the brewer. This however is not a huge problem. The problem is trying to locate the date code. It is NOT on the bottom of the maker as stipulated on the setup instructions. The date code is engraved on the prongs of the plug - very tine to say the least. It would have been better if they put it above or below the model # in dark print. Another issue with this is the carafe. I called the customer service and was informed that there had indeed been a mistake with the carafe - when pouring it drips coffee all over the counter. However, Bunn as usual is replacing the carafe at no charge. They back up their product.

I LOVE MY BUNN | 11/23/11

5

I love my bunn, Had one for years, all other pots and brands take for ever to make a pot of coffee, Its great to get up in the morning and coffee in less than 3 min, or when you have guests and run out they dont have to wait for more. The only problem that I am having is it is leaking form the bottom of the machine and I dont know why, water will be on the counter top. Problem I dont have my reciept any more. I have other brands in the cabinet, and would never buy another brand again. (keep them for my kids lol)

0
npaine
UPDATE | 10/30/11

I had the same complaints about the carafe and wrote the review two before this one. I took it on with Bunn directly and they responded quickly and with a new carafe within a couple of days. The new carafe is perfect and the spout completely different. Bunn gets huge credit for customer service and I am thrilled with the machine now!

0
dcarey
Bad replacement. | 10/25/11

We had the original Bunn for several years before it finally died. I couldn't believe how long it lasted. It was great! We looked around our area for a replacement, but only could find the newer version NHBX-B. It was nice looking with the stainless and black. It really looks good with our stainless appliances. That turned out to be the only thing we liked about it.
I wish we wouldnt have discarded the old carafe with the old coffe maker. The one that came with our new unit is HORRIBLE! It takes almost as long to pour 1 cup of coffee without spilling it as it does to make the whole pot brewed. The carafe, no matter how I hold it, or how slow I pour it, drips all over the place. VERY POOR DESIGN. I can't understand why the original would have been changed. Besides the carafe problem, I'd also have to say how much we do not like how LOUD the maker is when it is reheating the water. This new design coffee maker should have never made it out of the test lab.
I miss my old coffee maker! I'd gladly trade for an older version. I'm really stuck now after dishing out $130 for this worthless product.

0
npaine
Same issue | 10/19/11

I have given it several weeks and all kinds of pouring methods and the carafe is just poorly designed. It spills every time no matter what I do. Yes I can barley pour it and it won't spill but this is 5AM and I want coffee and it should pour better. Im ready to dump the whole machine because of it. From reading these posts, Bunn needs to replace this carafe. Please contact me with a solution!

Coffee Pot Issues, Not Customer Service Response | 10/11/11

Well, still no response from anyone at Bunn about my posts relative to the new design of the pot and the issues with pouring, etc. Will the Customer Service Personnel please come to work????? This is very disappointing from a company of this caliber. I didn't just pick up a pot for $20 at Big Lots, as you well know, the pot cost quite a bit more than that. So lets see some customer service. Thank you.

0
lisa@bunn (not verified)
brendab1945 - Reply | 10/17/11

Please email me at Bunn.Marketing@bunn.com (and put Attn: Lisa)so I can learn more about your concerns. We monitor the discussion forum posts daily and ratings & reviews periodically to see how things are going. If you would rather talk on the phone, you can either send me your name and phone number or you can call our customer service team at 800-352-2866 Monday-Friday from 7am to 5pm. Sorry for your frustration.

Coffee Maker | 10/6/11

I am very disappointed in this coffee maker. It is much slower than our old one which lasted over 10 years. The pot itself is the biggest issue. My husband says to pour it slower and it won't run all over. Well, no matter which way I pour it, it runs all over the counter top. What a pain. And last but not least, it is the loudest coffee pot I have ever heard. Not only does one have to deal with the refrigerator running now the coffee pot chimes right in there as well. Not happy with this pot at all.

No Response from Bunn on Rating!!! | 10/4/11

Not only does this Bunn have an inferior pot, I can't get up with anyone to assist me with the issue...I posted here and no one has responded. You can not get through to a human on the phone lines...I guess you just pay your money and roll the dice???? I have been a Bunn customer for many years, so I guess we have just been lucky that we have had good products in the past, 1 out of 5 is not bad....only 20% of our products have been inferior...DUH...All of our money was okay...none of our money came back as inferior.. mmmmm....

0
MrBlue
Disappointing | 10/1/11

We had a Bunn for 7 years that died for hard water. We put in a fitering system before buying this one. It rarely dumps coffee with any consistency, it can take 3 - 20 minutues. I have to clean it every fifth use and it doesn't have any signs of hard water. The pot also runs all over when you pour it. A friend of ours said she had the same model and the heater would not keep the coffee warm. Our seems to do that fine. I would not recommend this coffee maker to anyone.

Coffee pot is dangerous...who made the change on the spout????? | 10/1/11

I have been a Bunn customer for many years and never have there been any problems with the pots or the products in general, other than they finally gave out from use...We are definitely Bunn customers. We purchased this Bunn the NHB-B on 9/22/11 from our local Lowe's. We have spilled water, coffee on a daily basis from this new pot. The spout is shorter than the one on our previoius Bunn. I have actually burned my hands on a couple of occasions because of the leaky pot...Helppppppp!!!! I am not a happy camper...Thanks in advance for any assistance you can give me...We have invested our money now..so we are stuck...we are senior citizens on a fixed income and can not afford to spend our monies on things that don't perform well. Whoever re-designed the pot, should have done some pouring before they let it get out of the factory...not good...

Excellent coffee maker. Owned | 9/29/11

Excellent coffee maker. Owned Bunn's for years. Had a problem with the carafe though but I called Customer service and had a new carafe in a week that worked. Absolutely no complaints with customer service.

Bunn HBNN | 9/29/11

I have had two Bunn coffee makers in the past 11 years. The first a friend gave me due to her replacing it with a newer model which played out on me after 5 years. The second my daughter gave me for Christmas 5 years ago. The reliabilty, ease, quality and flavor of coffee using a Bunn is so totally desirable. Twice I contacted the support which they had a remedy for my delimia, as always this corrected the problem of deliming and the second was an irregular drip. I panic if it does not work right. I LOVE MY BUNN

My Bunn Coffee Lifeline Pot | 9/29/11

We have only ever owned a Bunn Coffe Pot for over 40 years. We love them and would not use anything else. We have reverse osmosis now and it has saved the life of the pot by having clean water with no lime or hard water, this coffee maker is the only way to go!!!!

Happy Customer | 9/2/11

5

There are many negative comments about this product. I recognize that results may vary, but I have never had a problem with mine, and I have had it for five years. It makes a great cup of coffee, and does so quickly.Pieces have not broken off, and nothing else negative has happened with the product. With all of the negative reviews, I felt I had to give my perspective on the product. I do not usually recommend products to people, but I HAVE recommended this one on several occasions.

terrible coffee pot | 9/2/11

1

We had a Bunn coffee pot for about 10 years. It started leaking so we bought another one we liked the first one so well. However, did we make a mistake. The good news about Target Stores they will allow us to return it within the 3 months of purchase and that is what we are doing. It leaks from the dispenser of water to the caref. You get coffee grounds all over your hands when removing the used filter (and we always use Bunn filters). So much trouble for a new Bunn! We will never purchase one again. Disappointed in Virginia

We have owned our Bunn for 4 | 8/21/11

2

We have owned our Bunn for 4 years and and have had to order 4 sprayers heads for it for some reason they come unattached and fall into the grounds and get thrown away... Well here we go again, so I looked where the spray head goes and it is cracked where it screws in so that why they keep falling in the grounds other then that it works fine!!! If I have to replace it I probably won't purchase another Bunn because of this issue my husband said he will not spend that much money again....Please help!!!!

Bunn Not Worth cost anymore | 8/1/11

1

I have owned Bunn for over 30 years and was always able to take it apart and clean it out as we have very hard water in my area. Not any more. It also makes very weak coffee and they suggest to put more coffee in it. Well I just bought another cheap coffee maker and am using the same amount of coffee as I put in the Bunn and it is great coffee with out the high price of the Bunn. It used to be worth it as it was a good lasting coffee maker but not anymore. Most companies are cheapening up their products or having them made overseas or Mexico and that is totally unacceptable to me. This Bunn is made in Canada but is expensive for the results I get. I will not be buying a Bunn again with the cost and the experience I have had with it.

VERY UNSATISFIED WITH OUR COFFEE MAKER | 7/30/11

1

We got a BUNN / Tim Hortons coffee maker just last xmas. It continually floods the grounds over the filter and into the pot of fresh brewed coffee. Also at least once a week sometimes even more it will flood right over the top and there will be coffee grounds and coffee all over the counter. This creates a big mess to clean up. I honestly hate this machine. I keep trying to use it because it cost so much money. Is this the normal expected performance of this machine?

0
lisa@bunn (not verified)
JIMWOOLRIDGE - Reply | 8/1/11

Sorry for the frustrating situation with the overflow. The good news is that we can send you a flow restrictor sprayhead that should fix this issue. Also, please be sure you are using BUNN filters as they are 1/4" taller than other paper filters on the market. Please give our Canadian office a call and they will get you a new sprayhead right away. They can be reached at 800-263-2256.

1
bmck
BUNN not worth the money anymore | 7/25/11

1

I am a huge coffee drinker, and I love to get a pot of coffee made quickly. I used to love the Bunn coffeemakers because of their speed, even though they are more expensive. Well, no more!! I bought my current BUNN about a year and a half ago because my old BUNN started leaking water. Well, now my most recently purchased one has started leaking water also. I do not feel it is safe for an electrical appliance to be leaking water! I will NOT be purchasing another BUNN! I feel that they just do not last long enough to justify the cost. I will just buy a cheaper coffeemaker, wait a few minutes longer and hopefully won't have to worry because it is leaking water!

0
lisa@bunn (not verified)
bmck - Reply | 8/1/11

I'm sorry you are having a bad experience with our brewers. The good news is that your brewer has a 3-year limited warranty and we will replace if right away. Please give us a call at 800-352-2866 or email us your information at http://www.BunnAtHome.com/parts-service.

Best Coffee Makers Ever! | 6/29/11

5

I have never owned a different brand of coffee maker, simply because Bunn is the best! I bought my first one 25 years ago and have only replaced it once. Not only are they the simplest design making them the easiest to use, the performance is great! No need for complicated timers or brew cycles. If you like stronger coffee, just set your grinder to a finer grind. We have very hard water where we live, so the tool that comes with the maker helps keep the water channel free of deposits. About once a month I run a half pot of white vinegar through the maker, and flush it with several pots of water, to keep the water chamber clean. The customer service department is very helpful! They are a little more pricey than some others, but it is well worth it! You can't go wrong with owning a Bunn!

2
mcfrau
Loved it ... until it died!! | 6/22/11

2

I've had my Velocity Brew for just over a year ... it was working great, I had cleaned it several times (we have hard water), made quick great coffee. But then just the other morning, it died. Of course, it happened as I had a houseful of company, too! The power light switch would not light up or turn on, the element wouldn't heat, and the coffee was lukewarm at best. Tried plugging it in to other outlets in the kitchen, and it still wouldn't turn on. Now, what do I do? Risk it and buy another Bunn? I am tempted to just go back to "disposable" coffeemakers which will only run me $50 a year to replace instead of $100 or better.

0
lisa@bunn (not verified)
mcfrau - Reply | 6/23/11

Definitely give us a call at 800-352-2866. Your BUNN brewer has a 3-year limited warranty and we'll replace it if it's still in this warranty period. Please have the date code from the machine or the receipt for the purchase as one of these is needed for the warranty. Our reps are available Monday-Friday from 7am to 5pm central.

I have owned Bunn Coffee | 6/21/11

2

I have owned Bunn Coffee Makers for almost 30 years and had good luck with all of them except this one. For as much as I paid for it, I would think that after only 18 months I am ready to throw it out the door and go back to the older style I previously owned. This model is a complete disappointment to a family that drinks alot of coffee and having to wait for 10 to 15 minutes after being used to no more that 5 minutes is also a disappointment. We have minerals in out water and our old one used to be taken apart and cleaned, put back together and great coffee once again. I am busy and do not need the added aggrivation.

0
bcmuzk
Velocity Brew NHB | 6/5/11

Very happy with this coffee maker, but it has started leaking in the last few days. I'm sure Bunn will take care of the problem, they've always been very helpful. Would definitely buy again....

REALLY LUV THIS ONE! | 6/5/11

5

Have 2- 1 for summer house, 1 for winter house. Great coffee, good looking, & perfect product.
Will always buy BUNN.

This is my third BUNN Coffee maker | 6/3/11

5

This is my third Bunn Coffee maker and the best one yet. I have had it for over one year and it makes on average five (5) pots of coffee per day. I like its consistency and the speed in which a pot is brewed, having the water hot and ready to brew is a real valueable feature. One thing very noticeable about the coffe brewed in the Bunn is you can quickly tell the quality of of the coffee being used and it really shows off when brewing high quality coffee's like Blue Mountain and Kona. If this machine ever needs replacing it will be with another BUNN.

5
rondj
NHBB | 6/3/11

5

Going my second year and still loving it...I owned one before and that's why I bought another one... these people that saying that they are spilling there coffee all over the counter, just needs to adjust the handle with the single screw .. Just watch how you pour and turn the handle to match your hand....works great....like I said this is my second one I've owned and as long as they make them will contiune to buy another one if something happens to this one....

Our new BUNN coffee maker. | 5/28/11

4

Overall I would rank this as a very good coffee maker. Somewhat expensive but hope the quality and longevity of this unit make it a wise purchase...time will tell.
Not impressed with the coffee pot and how one has to pour slowly into a mug. If you pour fast it runs down the side of the pot and onto countertop....SO pour slowly to avoid a mess.!!

0
rondj
Pouring | 6/3/11

Loosen your screw on the handle and turn the handle toward the way you are pouring it and that will cure your problems..

Velocity Brew NHBB | 5/27/11

Great Coffee, very happy with the short time it takes to make a pot. But the coffee pot leaks when you pour it. If you try to pour a cup quickly you end up with coffee everywhere, if you pour it very slowly it works fine. I don't know for sure but it seems as if the lid might have lost its shape over time and it allows too much coffee out all at once. But other than that it makes a damm good cup of coffee.

NHBB Velocity Brew | 5/24/11

Can't imagine anybody complaining about the Bunn Velocity brewer ... unless a defective one !! have two of these units,it was recommended to me several years back , nothing on the market like it , in fact bought a second one for my Mountain Home in NC . you can brew 4 cups for my wife and i in the morning , and at night if we have a group over for dinner can do 10 cups in a flash , and redo second brew in before the guest can drink first cups !! I would love to have the "thermos carafe " that would fit the HHBB unit for parties and functions ... I grind my own beans , so can adjust for specific brews !! bottom line .. just love both of them !!

Great coffee maker! | 5/22/11

4

I've owned this model Bunn for over a year and am very satisfied with its performance. We brew an average of 2 pots per day and have noticed no change in brewing behavior.

It may require more coffee than a maker that brews a pot more slowly, but we prefer the faster brew for less bitter coffee and use a darker roast than before owning the Bunn.

Don't miss the timer feature or filter basket valve of other makers; this one brews fast enough to render these features superfluous.

We've given another of these as a gift we liked it so much.

3
hij
Brewing half pot | 5/21/11

3

Cannot brew a decent pot if it is less than the full pot. Weak and tasteless. Tips?

some thoughts... | 5/22/11

Try a finer grind, change to a darker roast, or use more grounds. It does seem to require more coffee to make it as strong as other makers that take longer. The trade-off is less bitter coffee. Bunn also provides a slower spray head that might work better for smaller pots if you brew these often.

Disappointed | 5/18/11

I have owned several Bunn coffee makers and recently purchased the Velocity Brew. Disappointed! It leaks and unless you poor the water and coffee out super slow it makes a mess everywhere! For what a person pays, it might be time to check out other options.

I had the same problem. But I | 9/29/11

I had the same problem. But I called customer service and had a new carafe in a week that worked like it should.

new coffee maker | 5/15/11

3

My rating for Bunn in the past has been GREAT... not AWESOME..when I tried to click on that rating I could get Poor or Awesome to work... you guys need to fix that cause i did not choose Awesome. Anyway... We have had a Bunn for 20 years or so - fixed one - replaced it with the NHBB - the wide skinny one... don't like it as well as the round one but the store didn' t have them... You need to fix that too. This one lasted about 8 years... but we LOVED the round one the good old bunn o matic.... I don't like the coffee pots - they leak - cant hardly get a cup of coffee pored without waiting and being very careful... fix that. But we LOVE the speed, the taste, the convienance... its a good cup of coffee... so we deal with the small issues. However... please have the bunn o matic available in store in Ohio in the next 5 years so when this one bites the dust... we can find it... that lasted 10 easy

I've had this coffeemaker for | 5/2/11

I've had this coffeemaker for one year...approx. 6-7 months ago, it started running slower. I used the plastic stick and reamed it out over and over. It would run a little faster, but right back to running slow again. It now takes 14 to 17 minutes to run one pot through the coffeemaker. I'm very disappointed in this piece of equipment, after spending $140.00 plus tax for it. You would think it would perform without a problem for an appliance that costs so much. I know the old Mr. Coffee I had previously didn't take as long.

0
lisa@bunn (not verified)
janet glessner - Reply | 5/3/11

Something is definitely not working correctly. The good news is that your BUNN brewer has a 3-year limited warranty. Please give us a call at 800-352-2866 Monday-Friday from 7am to 5pm. Or, send us the email at this link http://www.BunnAtHome.com/parts-service.