Velocity Brew GR

3.605265
Login or Register to review.

Comments

36 comments posted
Warranty | 6/27/14

4

Congratulations to Bunn for standing behind their warranty, we purchased a Bunn GR model 11/1/11, it just quit working on 6/25/14. I notified Bunn and they are sending me a new coffee maker, simply outstanding service. The problem is that after reading other posts, the product appears to have a designed adolescence of 3 years, ours did not make it to it's third year. Having had a previous Bunn that lasted about 5 years before the tank started leaking.

Honest Review | 4/16/14

3

Before buying this, I had bought the Phase brew ( read honest review on phase brew page if considering ). I had checked reviews on this machine on amazon it was rated well ( i didnt check them on the phase brew, my bad ). The phase brew had produced the best coffee I have tasted out of a home brewer, near dunkin and timmies taste I was after. But considering it had a major design flaw, I had to return it. I found this one and I really am not a fan of it being on all the time, but I figured Ill give it a go. If its costs me more in electricity but brews a good coffee, I guess thats a trade off.
Well, first brew was ok. Second, ok. Third, ok. Add more coffee, less coffee, more/less water, it just doesnt give a brew like the phase brew. A little depressing, however, still better than the 30 dollar mr coffee mind you. I dont know if its worth the hundred and change, the coffee is not great, its ok. Its almost like it comes out too fast, as it says it takes 3 minutes to make a pot while the phase brew takes 4( not including heat up) . Also, I noticed the little spray head is different than the phase, but could be the problem. Anyways, I rate this as a 3, because it does work, and it does make the coffee quick, perhaps too quick ( judging by the taste ). It does live up to its features on the box, just isnt the same Great taste that the phase brew gave me. Not sure if I will return it, because many reviews state its a trustworthy unit...but does it justify spending 90 bucks more than a mr coffee with a little less quality taste ??
I am a deal finder, not cheap but frugal. I want the best for my buck, willing to pay more for better, know when I got a good buy, know when I didnt. I would say if your looking for a dependable no frills coffee maker, this would be it. If your looking for the coffee shop taste that I'm after, this is not. 3/5 Honest rating

Weak coffee | 3/21/14

5

I have been a bunn user for the last 18 years. If you purchase this product the way it is, you may get weak coffee. It's due to the new style filter basket....use the old kind and it's way better. I recommend bunn to everyone that wants a great cup of coffee quick!

Never again | 3/4/14

1

After walking past this item numerous times I finally purchased it. Very disappointed. It makes the weakest cup of coffee I've ever tasted. If you try and compensate by adding more grounds, it will overflow and run all over the counter and inside the hotplate. Going to try and sell it on eBay. Back to using my $30 black and decker. It makes a far better cup and no mess!!! So if it says bunn......runn!!!!!

Never again | 3/4/14

1

After walking past this item numerous times I finally purchased it. Very disappointed. It makes the weakest cup of coffee I've ever tasted. If you try and compensate by adding more grounds, it will overflow and run all over the counter and inside the hotplate. Going to try and sell it on eBay. Back to using my $30 black and decker. It makes a far better cup and no mess!!! So if it says bunn......running!!!

not worth the money | 12/5/13

1

I am currently on my second GRX-B coffee maker. The first one lasted just past the warranty before it started the now famous leaking problem. I thought that it was a fluke and that I would give BUNN a second chance. Big mistake! The second one did the exact same thing. I brew one pot of coffee a day which rules out any idea that I might be over working the machine. After reading other reviews I now realize that the leaking is a very common defect in these coffee makers. However, the BUNN company refuses to offer any kind of help other than offering a $40 discount and free shipping on a new un-improved coffee maker. All I wanted was to be able to buy a repair kit to fix my leaking but otherwise usable coffee maker. Sorry, but I would rather buy a cheap $15 coffee maker so that when it quits working I won't feel ripped off.

Hooked for life! | 2/26/13

5

My wife and I are coffee addicts. For the past ten or so years we have used a percolator. Yes, a percolator. It made good coffee, but we had to wait half the day just to have a cup. I have always wanted a Bunn. My grandparents swear by them, and so did everyone I talked to that owned one. I just couldn't bring myself to pay over $100 for a coffee pot. I finally broke down and bought one after staring at them every time we went to the store. I am glad I did! It is one of the best investments we have every bought. I will never own anther brand. It makes great tasting coffee in what seems like no time at all! If you're thinking about getting one, or just needing a new one, I would highly recommend this Bunn!

2
April
Could be better | 6/25/12

2

This is the 3rd bunn i have owned. My first one lasted for about 10 years before it kicked the bucket, I got my money worth out of it for sure. My second on lasted about 2 years before it started leaking water out the bottom of the tank. I was very upset about that. But my faith in bunn I went out and bought another one. I have had this one for 3 years now with no problems what so ever. Until now, the past 2 weeks every time i go to make a pot of coffee it over flows out the basket leaving a huge mess of coffee and grounds all over the place. I called CS and they said it was the sprayer head and will send a replacement sprayer head. My thoughts is i have owned this for over 3 years, if it was the sprayer head i would of thought it would have over flowed from when i purchased it not over 3 years later.. Has anyone replaced this head before and did it work?

3
sogi
Worked well for 3.5 years. | 5/17/12

3

I can't really complain about this coffee maker, as I have spent the past 3 and a half years giving it praise. The coffee is always fresh and 3 minutes after I pour the water in, just as advertised, I get a great pot of coffee. However, this morning I went to make a pot of coffee and.....nothing, no warning, no funny noises, just a dead Bunn. I called but since I am out of warranty, I can do a replacement program with Bunn for $60 or so which is a nice gesture, but I figure by the time I ship it back I will have spent about the same as I can buy one from Bed Bath and Beyond, plus I can have it today. Bottom line, I will do a little research on coffee makers and see if another brand can steal me away, but if not I know where I can get a good coffee maker for another 3 years.

Excellent. | 3/12/12

5

I really don't understand all the negative reviews. I like the styling first off. I was considering one of the single-serve options for a new coffee maker. I thought about it a lot and having had experience with Bunn at my last job I started to consider buying one. That coffee maker brewed coffee all day for years without complaint, and I swear despite using filtered water at home I was never able to get the same taste out of my GE. So today after work I bought a GRX and just finished setting it up a couple hours ago. I brewed an initial pot, and I have to say it is a pleasure to use and the flavor of the coffee is superb. I find this coffee maker to be quite perfect in design the way it is and it just doesn't need to be changed. If you love coffee, buy one, use Bunn filters and follow the instructions and she won't let you down.

Not worth the Money | 12/26/11

1

Followed directions filled storage tank waited 1 hour to brew a pot of coffee, first pot brewed was weak/just warm. Second pot the next day was all over the counter and filled half a pot. I have been making/drinking coffee for 30+ years never had a $12 Black and Decker do this or a variety of other units. Commercial Bunn units are the best there is the residential market is cheap made in China Crap. This unit is going back to be store for a refund, I will not be buying another one. Bunn needs to go back to the drawing board on this one!

Worked well for years and still is working well | 10/12/11

Both of my Bunn coffee makers have worked well and delivered excellent coffee.
I use this model at work. This coffee maker has provided 1 or more pots of coffee 5 times a week for more than 5 years.
Once it appeared to be leaking from the bottom, it turned out that the carafe was cracked along a bend in the glass. Replacing the carafe solved the problem.

Great Machine | 8/22/11

5

This is my third Bunn in nearly twenty years. I recently experienced a problem with mine. I contacted Bunn and was told mine was still under warranty. The representative immediately shipped me a NEW one, not a refurbished unit. All I had to do was ship the defective one back to them. What more do you expect from someone? The coffee is great. I have never had an issue with leaks, over-flow, poor tasting coffee or any of the complainants I have read in the reviews. I expect great service from this machine and when it plays out, I WILL buy another Bunn.

GRX BUNN COFFEE | 8/2/11

5

I have to say after reading all the reviews that some of the problems indicated may have been able to be fix with a little reading of the manual. I too had a problem with over flow but I read that I need a restrictor to solve my problem. Other than that this is a super machine and would either reccommend to my friends or buy one for them.. AWESOME UNIT

1
LuLu
Horrible Coffee | 7/25/11

1

This was our third,(and last) Bunn coffee maker. The previous two were fantastic;which in our world means:"makes great coffee." This product fell terribly short of that one requirement. The coffee was terribly weak and tasteless. We use an expensive blend and grind it prior to each pot,and also changed to a different nozzle to attempt to slow the very quick brew cycle. (The customer service rep.suggested this nozzle,and per her suggestion,we even checked the water temp. for accurate heat). Nothing helped,except standing next to the pot,opening and closing the lid to slow the torrent of hot water from pouring over the coffee so quickly and thus slowing the brew time. Who needs this?! (We're back to Mr.Coffee and lovin' every strong cup!)

GR-10 problem | 7/18/11

1

Not only does the coffee pot leak profusely from the bottom, but 10 emails from an uncooperative Bunn rep, Megan Smith, got me absolutely no where with fixing the issue. She refused to tell me who her supervisor was and just stopped answering my inquiries. I am not an unreasonable person; I just want some customer service. Okay...the thing leaks...tell me where I can get the parts to fix it. Instead, I got the run-around. I am not satisfied with Bunn, nor would I ever recommend one to a friend. Or enemy.

gr10-b | 6/19/11

I have had my wonderful BUNN for 6 years, now it leaks from the bottom. can't use it any more.i need a new part for it. i bought a new coffee maker the coffee is bad.

leaking/overflowing | 6/13/11

1

This is my third and FINAL Bunn coffeemaker. The first one was wonderful so when it went out I bought another Bunn. The second one was a so so product.....it leaked/overflowed...occasionally.....but this one is a piece of trash....!!! It leaks/overflows EVERY time I brew coffee.....I have tried trouble shooting with the guide in the owner's manual. I use Bunn filters and and checked the spray head....which was properly placed. I also used distilled water, bottled drinking water and even spring water....and it overflowed with them all just like it did with my tap water. So....I have wasted $100 on a defective coffee maker when a $25 Mr. Coffee would be a better purchase. BUNN rep......please don't reply to me about how sorry you are about the problem.....it is obvious that I am not the only one who has had this problem. So I am FINISHED with Bunn and don't want to hear your excuses for your defective product.....!!!!

I WOULD NOT recommend this coffee maker to anyone.

This Bunn coffemaker is the | 6/6/11

5

This Bunn coffemaker is the best I have ever had. I like my coffee strong and hot. I have had this coffemaker for 7 years and will never purchase another brand. Mine has never leaked or overflowed. I love, love, love it.

So far so good | 6/5/11

5

After our ten year old Krups coffee maker finally died we got an expensive Kitchenaid model. I had to take it back within a week and exchanged for the same model. That one lasted three months and then just stopped working. Had to go thru hoops to get my money back and even had to pack it up and send it back to them instead of just to the local retail outlet. Hassle. I bought the Bunn GR and it is great. We have only had it since April 11, 2011 but it has worked perfectly since the purchase. We brew the coffee every morning and fill the old Krups carafe that still keeps coffee super hot and we are good to go. The Bunn is the fastest brewer I have ever seen. And the coffee flavor is wonderful. We have not had any issues discussed below of overflowing or leaking. So we are satisfied and hope it lasts as long as the Krups did.

4
dvd
Quick replacement, hope the leaking problem is corrected | 5/25/11

4

I have owned my Bunn GRX-B coffee brewer since August, 2009. I noticed that it began leaking in December of 2010, and used a bath towel to collect the drainage coming from the bottom of the unit. After a few soaked towels, I finally took the unit apart and thoroughly cleaned it, looking carefully for any design flaws or defects that would explain the continued and worsening leakage. I have determined that the tank is leaking through its bottom, and that it should be hermetically sealed by Bunn, in order to eliminate the manufacturer's defect. Unfortunately, the unit continued to leak after the intensive cleaning and examination. I had the foresight to purchase the 2-year warranty extension during my original purchase, and Bunn promptly sent my replacement unit within 3 days. That said, my beautiful, yet extremely adamant fiance, Connie, insisted on purchasing a replacement pot (we bought an off-brand for $12.99 at ABC Warehouse) until our warranty product arrived.
I am extremely satisfied with our coffee unit and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys a fast, tasty pot of coffee to get their day going. I thank the people at Bunn for their dedication and quality product, and hope that my blog will assist them in the troubleshooting and correction of the flaw which has cost me an extra $20.98 (2 year warranty and temporary coffee unit). Thank you for your time and have a fantastic day!:)

Your choice weak coffee or a big mess | 5/20/11

I've been around & operated Bunns through out the years both commercial & home models and have been highly satisfied with their performance, from the quick brew to the quality of the coffee brewed. Hadn't owned one personally until recently. When my 2 year old $25.00 Black & Decker died unexpectantly I shelled out $115 for one. I have not been happy with the quality of this machine. In order to not make a big mess all over the counter & floor, the grounds have to be kept to a minimium which leads to tea like coffee. If you like it strong, then you get either a big mess or cowboy coffee or both either way it totally defeats the 3 minute brew sales point. I have tried aftermarket filters, 2 different reusable mesh filters as well as tieing the filter shut all to no avail so far I have spent more time cleaning up the mess this machine makes or trying to prevent it that the coffee at the local gas station is far superior.

Would I recommend this product to a friend?? ABSOLUTELY NOT!!!

0
lisa@bunn (not verified)
spillmanak - Reply | 6/9/11

Sorry about the mess you are getting when you brew. It sounds like you need a flow restrictor sprayhead - we will send you one for free. Please send us you info at http://www.BunnAtHome.com/parts-service. Also, be sure you are using BUNN filters because they are a 1/4-inch taller than typical paper filters and mesh filters. Between the BUNN filters and the flow restrictor sprayhead, you should be mess free. I hope this helps.

I would not recommend a Bunn | 5/19/11

2

I would not recommend a Bunn coffeemaker. I love the luxury of having a good, quick cup of coffee. That part, Bunn has right. But there is a known design flaw that results in significant leakage around the bottom that Bunn cannot or will not get right. It has happened with both Bunns I have owned.

Two guests noticed a small towel tucked along the bottom of my Bunn and asked if my coffeemaker was leaking because both had the same issue with theirs. I reported this problem to Customer Service, and the rep replied that if this were a problem, they would know it! Well, I see on this forum that they should know it, since it's right off their website. I spoke with Joyce in Customer Service just now, and she assured me they are aware of the problem. She apologized for the leakage but said there is no method of repair.

Importantly, she said they do not get a large enough percentage of reports of the problem contrasted with the volume of sales to consider the leakage to be a significant problem. Everyone needs to call 800-352-2866 to report leakage.

0
Penny
Penny Spradlin | 5/16/11

We have been using Bunn for over 10 years, and until this one we just bought we was very happy. I don't care how careful we are....the coffee runs all over the place. We tried moving it and we just gave up. We went back to our Mr. Coffee. It takes a while but at least we get a full pot and don't have to clean the counter off. What has happened to the Bunns? They used to be the best pots around.

0
lisa@bunn (not verified)
Penny - Reply | 5/16/11

I'm sorry about what you are experiencing with your BUNN brewer. Have you had a chance to call our customer service team? I think they can solve this issue for you. Please give them a call at 800-352-2866 Monday-Friday 7am to 5pm.

warmer | 5/16/11

1

It does'nt keep coffee warm

LEAKS, Better off buying a cheap one. Run from Bunn! | 5/14/11

Our old Bunn lasted forever, finally died we bought another Bunn. HAHA stupid of us! Worst money we ever spent! This thing leaks water from the bottom everytime we try to make a pot. Over a $100.00 for a leaking Coffee maker well I could have bought a lot of cheap $5.00 coffee pots. This isn't made to last, It's not worth $5.00 let alone anywhere near the price we paid! If they don't resolve the issues with this overpriced piece of junk the will be losing a lot of long time loyal customers! Avoid this product, research all the others before you waste your money!

0
lisa@bunn (not verified)
jrbjojo - Reply | 6/9/11

Just checking in to see if you've been in contact with our customer service team and they've been able to resolve this issue for you. Please let me know when you have a chance.

Redesign sorely needed! | 5/14/11

1

I really wanted a heated reservoir coffee maker, but the ones available from Bunn are terribly ugly and antiquated. I was looking for something to match my stainless steel kitchen appliances. I decided to go with Bunn's HG Model because I've always had good luck with your products in the past. Can't say that I'm blown away by the new HG. It looks nice, but it's very loud and the carafe drips a 1/4 of the coffee onto the countertop when I pour a cup.

Returning Velocity Brewer, Going back to Mr. Coffee | 5/13/11

Mr. Coffee died on me last night so I hopped into my street clothes and took off to Walmart. Saw the Bunn maker there, thought "Oh wonderful!" Bunn is a great brand name and I can now have one for the house.
It has been nothing but a headache! The filter funnel has run over every one of the six pots I have tried to make with it! First time it did this, I checked the troubleshooting section of manual which suggested that sprayhead may not be in place. Sure enough, it was not completely tightened. Did this fix issue? NO! Am I using a fine grind or decaffeinated coffee? NO. Using a Bunn filter? You tell me...using the ones that CAME WITH THE MACHINE. Request a flow restrictor sprayhead? Uhm, NO! 1) I want coffee today, not a week or more from now. 2) I paid for something that should work right out of the box, based on reputation and previous commercial experience with the brand.
Wasted coffee, time, and money on this machine. SO EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED!!!!

Best!!! | 5/7/11

5

Best coffeemaker ever! I debated spending the money on one for a few years while I wasted money on other brands that had to be replaced every year. I've had my Bunn for a year now and it still works like brand new. I have a ton of lime in my water so the ease of cleaning with the deliming tool is great!

Great Tasting Coffee | 5/7/11

4

I just bought the GRX at Walmart after years of listening to my husband harp that we needed a BUNN. I have hesitated every time we've bought a new coffeemaker, which has been at least yearly, because I want a cup of hot coffee when I stumble out of bed, with my eyes glued shut, in the am! The last coffeemaker, a Mr Coffee, was purchased in February and by last week was producing more steam than coffee. We make one pot of coffee a day so it's not like we are over using these units by any means. I decided to give in and try the BUNN. It brews quickly so if I grind the coffee at night, just like I did with the other makers, I still have my coffee within minutes! The only problem that I have been experiencing is the overflow of grounds when I try to make a full pot. We have filtered water and we grind our coffee medium-fine to acheive the desired taste. I have just requested the flow restrictor so hopefully this will help without slowing the brew time by a lot. I hope it resolves the issue because this is the best tasting coffee I've ever had at home. It tastes just like it does when I buy a cup of the same at the local franchise!

Perfect, fast coffee every day | 5/4/11

4

My sister and I saved our money and bought our parents a Bunn coffeemaker in the 1973. In 1986 they divorced, and "had a discussion" over who got it! I bought my first Bunn in 1987, it made perfect, FAST coffee every morning for 12 years (1999). Blinded by bling and branding, I bought a Cuisinart. It lasted a year, and it coffee was "eh" unless I doubled up. Fed up, bought this Bunn (2000), and am still using it. After 11 years the tank leaked a last week, and the warmer plate indicator light started blinking, so I'm here shopping for the next generation! Perfect coffee, instantly (almost), every morning, without fail. Couldn't ask for better value or performance. Now there's nicer styling (though Bunn could do better). Check your local coffee shop and restaurants. Bet they're using Bunns!

velocity brew | 5/1/11

bought a velocity brew from Walmart. It could be the worst coffee maker I have ever wasted one hundred dollars on. It overflows out of the hopper all over my counter and makes a giant mess. I hate it. Bunn should be embarrassed to sell this unit.

0
lisa@bunn (not verified)
kevmj75 - Reply | 5/2/11

Sorry you are experiencing overflow. Please send us your information at http://www.bunnathome.com/parts-service so we can send you out a flow restrictor sprayhead. Also, plesae be sure to use BUNN paper filters - they are 1/4" taller than other paper filters to accomodate the quick water flow and loating of the coffee grounds that allow for proper extraction.