Login or Register to review.

Comments

20 comments posted
2 failures in 2 months | 2/16/14

1

Bought a Phase Brew HT at end of December. Heating unit failed within a month. Bunn replaced unit but failed again within 3 weeks. I suspect heating unit again as "water heating' light is on but no results. Even when in operation, we were not happy with difficult carafe and plastic like taste.

3
jfaris
Love / Hate Relationship...5-stars when it works properly... | 8/23/13

3

We Love the Phase Brew HT...when it works properly! I want to give this coffee maker 5+ stars...when it works, it deserves 5+ stars, but there is the reliablity issue with the equipment. I think we are on our 4th machine...each had similar issues with the cleaning cycle error. We were told each time that the issue was fixed.

Despite all of the equipment issues, the customer support has been phenonomenal and the warranty replacements have been quick (albeit annoying to deal with shipping non-working equipment back). If there are issues after the warranty has expired, I'm not sure what we will do.

It's cool looking, simple to use/program and it makes great coffee. Some people complain about the carafe and it does dribble when attempting to pour the last cup of coffee remaining in the pot, but I can deal with that. Just please fix the equipment reliability issues!

TERRIBLE carafe design | 2/17/13

1

I researched various coffee makers, and was so excited to get the phase brew HT. Read all the reviews, took into account all the negatives and the positives, and decided this was the right coffee maker for us. And I was disappointed on my first brew. The thermal carafe is not designed to pour coffee into a mug. And that's a serious problem. There is a huge lip at the top that makes the coffee spurt out in little bursts, leaving a mess, and making it practically impossible to pour directly into a thermos. I cannot believe that nobody else mentioned this in their review of this machine. Its all good and fine that the coffee stays hot and is well insulated in the thermal carafe. But I am appalled that the designers of this machine didn't even bother to do a test pour -- a very essential and simple function that should not be an issue in any way. If anyone can recommend an alternative solution (ie: swapping out the carafe for a better/updated model) I would be so appreciative. Because having a carafe that can't properly pour my coffee takes away any pleasure I get from making my own cup.

1
dbucci
Add mine to the list that stopped working after 3 months | 3/3/12

1

This was a great coffee maker until it suddenly quit heating water after 3 months of use. All my previous coffee makers (other brands) lasted 10 years or more before needing replacement.
I had read many reviews reporting the same problem but I hoped the reliability problems had been fixed. Unfortunately it is not the case.

LOVE IT! | 1/8/12

5

What can I say? So far, so very good. I am so impressed with the quality of coffee that I receive from the Phase Brew. I have not encountered any issues- knock on wood- so I am loving it! I have not visited Starbucks in over 3 weeks, except to buy beans, the coffee made with the PB-HT is that good! Saving money and enjoying great coffee. What's not to like?

3 Strikes | 12/20/11

3

Got your Customer service survey yesterday and really was conflicted about how to mark it. We sent back 2 HTs with the "pls clean/unit inop issue" before getting one that had the improved hardware which we LOVE. Do I give high marks for the CS reps who quickly try to help when QA issues occur? Do I give low marks since it took 3 tries to get a functioning unit to our home? I chose the later because if a waiter brings out food that is of low quality and it takes the cooks 3 tries to get tthe order right, the waiter will probably see it in his tip. I recommend improving the quality before sending out CS surveys. You guys are great, but the product came out with too many flaws initially. I would love to rate it as 5 stars as we love the coffee it brews but can't b/c your engineers dropped the ball on the heating circuitry and it took you 3 tries to get it right. What restruant would stay in business if that kept occurring to food orders? CS and Linda, I have to give you kudos, keep up the good work. Design folks get some better Hardware and QA for the HT. Thanks Bunn keep working!

You win some, you lose some ... | 12/12/11

2

In this instance, I gambled and lost. I asked for and received (early), the Phase Brew HT as a Christmas gift. I needed to replace an old Krups. Because I had researched the Krups and saw similar complaints about the carafe, pouring, spilling, etc. and I found them to be bunk, I figured the negative comments about the ability to pour from the PB HT were probably made in the vein. Wrong. It literally soaks my counter when I try to pour it out. I have to turn it upside down to empty it, even if I'm just rinsing it out after brewing. Even when its full, the coffee dribbles out of the side of the spout when you pour from it. It makes pretty decent coffee and it certainly looks cool. And at first I thought I could live with the hassle. But this has become a bit much to deal with every morning. It's going to cost a fortune in paper towels.

5
mthomp
Love it | 11/18/11

5

I just picked up a new Phase Brew HT (High Altitude). I have only used it twice, so obviously this review is limited, however it has become my new favorite. I'm unsure of all of the complains about a dripping pot. Maybe those were directed towards the glass pot or maybe Bunn has since done a re-dsign, because I have experienced no drip at all. It is a little difficult to pour out the last couple of drops, however this is easily overlooked upon tasting the quality of its brew. The design and build quality is even better than the pictures represent. I will update this review after several months of constant use, but for the time being I am a happy camper. Thanks Bunn for a sweet machine.

Phase Brew HT | 10/11/11

I just received the Phase Brew HT and love the coffee it makes, if I could only get it to pour out of the carafe. You have to turn it upside down to get coffee out and it spills out all over the place. I would like to see this fixed, because I think Bunn is going in the right direction to make a good coffee maker.

Bunn HT brewer | 9/29/11

Well, I did buy one of the early brewers and it did quit working after 3 months.....returned it and received a replacement with no problem. No problems what so ever with the current HT brewer. It brews a great cup of coffee which is flavorable and hot. I really like the fact that the HT doesn't store water and waste $$ keeping it hot 24/7. When it's time to go camping it's simply a grab and go! Love it!!

PhaseBrew HT | 8/21/11

1

Broke after 2 weeks, wouldn't heat the water. Only TWO WEEKS!!!!!! Some parts must be from China. When will you companies learn to stay away from Chinese parts?

Bunn HT Disappointing | 6/17/11

1

I have had the Bunn HT for about 6 months and have had multiple problems. First the spray head was not saturating all of the grounds in the brew basket. I contacted Bunn and they sent me a replacement head which remedied the problem. Then after a month or so with the new head the brewer would continue to drip for about 10 minutes after the brew cycle was complete, I removed and cleaned the head but it continues to drip. So the time it takes to brew a pot is considerably longer than advertised. In addition to spray head issues the brewer is extremely noisy when heating water and the carafe is poorly designed. I cannot stress enough how bad the carafe is, it doesn't pour well and it is impossible to empty the carafe without completely inverting it and making a mess.
Bunn responded quickly to try to remedy the spray head problem but this unit has too many inherent design flaws to make it a satisfying purchase. I have owned a couple of Bunn velocity brewers in the past and I was very pleased with their design and performance but the HT really misses the mark.

0
lisa@bunn (not verified)
lenalenox - Reply | 6/20/11

I'm sorry that you are not happy with the HT that you purchased. Can you please send me an email with your contact info so we can discuss this further? Please send this to Bunn.Marketing@bunn.com and put Attn: Lisa in the subject line.

2
susant
BUNN Phase Brew HT | 6/7/11

2

The coffee maker has no drip stop, has a heating element even though the carafe is thermal (so the bottom of the carafe gets hot and electricity is wasted), has a poorly designed carafe that won't drain completely unless the lid is off and it is upside down, it won't brew a partial pot, and it really only makes 5 cups of coffee, unless you believe that there are 5 oz in a cup. It takes much longer than 10 minutes to brew and drip - I usually have forgotten that I wanted coffee by the time I can get it out of the pot. Since it comes with this odd warming plate, if you try to move the pot before it stops dripping completely, you end up with burned coffee on the warming plate. Whoever heard of a warming plate on a thermal carafe coffee maker? Weird design, takes too long, doesn't work well. Buy something else. And - the carafe comes with a big 'Made in China' sticker on it. I bought it because BUNN is suppose to be American made. It isn't.

0
lisa@bunn (not verified)
susant - Reply | 6/7/11

I'm sorry that you are disappointed in the HT. Sounds like it's not the brewer for you. We make 3 home models here in the states with parts from both the US and overseas. They are the GR, BX and BT.

The HT has a warmer plate - like many typical drip brewers with thermal carafes do - because it is the heat sources that heats up the water for the coffee. Sorry about any confusion on the cup size. For some reason, the coffeemaker industry went to 5oz cups as the standard quite a while ago. While we clearly know that a cup is 8oz, we needed to stay consistent with the industry in how these are measured.

Please send me an email to Bunn.Marketing@bunn.com with your name and phone number. I'd like to talk with you about what we can do. Please put Attn: Lisa and reference your username from this site. Thanks.

Bunn HT | 6/3/11

3

I would love to give this Model high marks, but I just can't. I have owned the Bunn Velosity for the last 30 years and loved it. This time my husband wanted me to try one that doesn't use electricity all day long, so I chose the HT. The first one I got broke after about 3 days, but Bunn promptly replaced it with another one. I think the auto time to clean is broken on this one already. It went off after having it for one day it started flashing that it needed to be cleaned. I shut it off and it hasn't gone off again. I know we have a lot of lime in our water, but I would think it so go longer than one day. Except for that, I like everything about it except that it isn't big enough. My husband and I use mugs and we only get 3 cups of coffee out of one pot. I wish it was bigger.

Review for Bunn with Thermal Container | 6/3/11

5

Awesome coffee pot, makes the hottest, freshest and fastest coffee we ever had, just love our Bunn.

Review for Bunn with Thermal Container | 6/3/11

5

Makes the best coffee in the least amount of time

2
kulie
Have High Hopes | 5/28/11

2

I would like to give this high marks. We bought it as I have a 3-burner model at work that we got used 20 years ago and it's still doing fine. This one does what everyone has reported. It is noisy and takes about 10 minutes to brew but I like that it boils the water first then runs it through the coffee. I like our coffee.. The caraffe is as bad as they say. I don't know how any company could put this out as a finished product although it does keep it warm. The timer does fine and is the easiest to program I've come across. So I'm really okay with everything but the caraffe but since this doesn't have a warmer changing the caraffe isn't an option.

Repair | 5/17/11

The heating element went out after 6 mo's . I called customer service & they will replace the existing unit at no charge. They also mentioned that corrections have been made to the newer units. Bunn is to be commended for their prompt service. They do stand behind their products. Overall I am pleased with their prompt response & the HT does make very good coffee.